An historic Glen Ellyn grocery

Katherine Hodges
2 min readMay 17, 2021

--

Quick post here on a day along the UP-West Metra line (see yesterday’s post about free rides on UP lines coming to an end). Several beer shops and libraries today, and when I was in one in downtown Glen Ellyn I investigated the very cool sign I could see out the window.

I knew this was an older grocery store that had closed a few years ago. I went to Google and typed McChesney and it immediately filled in “mcchesney and miller glen ellyn” which was mildly creepy but I guess based on location searches? I found it’s been closed since 2014!

And there was a plan then to redevelop it…but it seems to have stalled, but maybe got life again in 2020?

Not much happening yet. Unlike another vacant site I really liked photographing in downtown Glen Ellyn (across from Blackberry Market), which vanished between when I discovered and photographed it in 2019 and when I got back in 2020. Or this year? Anyway, a little more about this store, which I sadly don’t think I ever went in, though I’ve been visiting Glen Ellyn occasionally since I first got into Metra trips around 2008.

I haven’t read in depth on this proposed project but I’m in almost always in favor of dense development near transit. I’ve seen it popping up in Mount Prospect and Elmhurst, for example. Don’t always love the architecture and there’s usually way too many parking spaces, but it’s a good use of the space. And it’d be literally across the street from the Beer Cellar, where I researched this. (I am posting it from the Beer Shop, another beer store/cafe along UP-W, in Oak Park).

--

--

Katherine Hodges

Chicagoan/Iowan. Trying to write. Buildings, books, bars, bikes, transit, cooking, photography…